Election 2014: Candidates listed as of nomination cut off

A mix of old and new will be running in Kitimat's local elections.

The race for Kitimat’s next mayor should be a thriller.

Incumbent Joanne Monaghan has filed to continue the job for the new term. Eyeing the job as well is current Kitimat Councillor Phil Germuth.

Trish Parsons, who is the Kitimat Chamber of Commerce executive director, has also filed as a mayoral candidate.

For the rest of the incumbent councillors, all are seeking a new term: Mario Feldhoff, Mary Murphy, Rob Goffinet and Edwin Empinado.

Potential new faces on council are: Amanda Kozak, Paul Lagace, John Powell, Claire Rattee, Jack Riddle and Larry Walker.

Seven candidates have filed for directorship on the Kitimat-Stikine Regional District, but none for our nearest rural area, surrounding Lakelse.

There are seven candidates filed for the Coast Mountains school district.

The Kitimat area is now guaranteed an election for its two positions. Raymond Raj, one of Kitimat’s incumbent trustees, is running for another term.

New to local government is Tim Carter also putting his name forth for the Kitimat area.

Margaret Warcup has also filed as of Thursday for a shot on the board.

Art Erasmus, a Terrace incumbent, is also running for another term.

Thornhill’s Gary Turner is also running for another term. Shar McCrory is running for Hazelton. Angela Brand Danuser has filed for the Stewart area.