Kitimat ladies dart’s

Charene Valleau wins tops honours

Kitimat ladies dart’s

The Kitimat Ladies Dart League celebrated its 45th annual awards night at the Legion on April 1.

The League consists of 12 teams of four players each, with 10 spares, the season operates from September to March. There is regular league play and also many special nights held during the year to make up a good season of darts.

The overall league winners trophy sponsored by the Royal Canadian Legion Branch 250 Kitimat was presented by president Marg Bogaert to the team of Rena Hummel, Joanne Havery, Jodie Cook and Maria Towse. With second place going to Kaye Brown, Betty Schiemann, Yolande Caton and Leree Hadley.

High Score for the year was 170 shot by Charene Valleau with the trophy being presented by last years winner Caroline Langegger. The trophy for High Out sponsored by Davene D’Amico was presented by Kaye Brown to Pauline Bell who took a 114 out. The Jack and Maggie Geddes Memorial Trophy for Most Single games was presented by Linda Lewis on behalf of Moreen Graham to Laura Jankauskas with 76 single games won for the year. She also took home the trophy for High Average Points with 57. Second place in both of these categories went to Yolande Caton.

Most Team Games Won was taken by the group of Rena Hummel, Joanne Havery, Jodie Cook and Maria Towse.

In February the annual doubles night was held where the ladies were playing for the Tracy Best Doubles Trophy. It came down to a playoff between three teams with the winner ending up being Yolande Caton and Sonya Botelho. Tracy Best was on hand to present the trophy to the winners. Second place was taken by Maria Towse and Cindy Margherit.

Linda Lewis and Yolande Caton both shot perfect scores of 180 and were presented with 180 pins and their trophy by league president Lynn MacIsaac.

Most Sportsmanlike Player as chosen by the league players was newcomer Sharon Steele. This trophy sponsored by Val and Alycia Little was presented by Val. The most improved player as chosen by the league executive was presented to Cindy Margherit by league statistician Laura Jankauskas. The teams then drew from the money tree to get their monies paid out for the year.

These awards were presented after the ladies enjoyed a buffet meal supplied by the Auxiliary to the Legion Branch 250.

League for the 2017- 18 season will start off with a registration meeting to be held on Wednesday, September 6 at 7:30 p.m. in the lounge at the RCL Legion Kitimat. Any ladies interested in playing are more than welcome to attend.